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Belt Use Soars to Third Highest in Nation;
Enforcement Continues

Oregon’s safety belt use rate is up from 90.4 percent last year to 92.6 percent, only a few points
behind Hawaii at 95 percent and Washington at 94.3 percent. California’s use rate, which has
consistently bettered Oregon’s, dropped from 91.2 percent to 90.4 percent in 2004. The
nationwide belt use average is approximately 79 percent. Oregon’s crash fatality and injury
rates have dropped 57 percent and 45 percent respectively, since passage of the adult belt law
in 1990. The law, coupled with active enforcement, has pushed Oregon’s safety belt use rate

from No. 4 to No. 3 in the nation this year.

Oregon law enforcement officers will join with Washington, Idaho and British Columbia police
agencies from Sept. 13—-26 to encourage the use of safety belts and child restraints as the
simplest, most effective way of preventing crash-related injuries and fatalities. According to the
Centers for Disease Control, motor vehicle crashes are the leading cause of death and disability

for all Americans age 1-34 years old.

The September “Three Flags Campaign” blitz will seek to reduce the number of motor vehicle-
related deaths and injuries by informing the public regarding safety belts, child safety seats,
booster seats, and the law against minors riding in open pickup beds. In addition, Oregon
officers will be paying special attention to speeding or impaired drivers—drivers who cause

more than half of Oregon’s annual traffic fatalities.

Carla Levinski, the Oregon Department of Transportation’s Occupant Protection Program

manager, strongly encourages everyone to buckle up on every trip and offers the following

reminders for maximizing the protection afforded by your vehicle’s restraint systems.
(MORE)

For updated information on highway work and current travel information throughout Oregon, visit
www.tripcheck.com, or call the Oregon road report at 511 or (800) 977-6368.
Visit the ODOT News Media Center at www.odot.state.or.us.
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Reminders:

Oregon law (ORS 811.210) requires all occupants of passenger vehicles to “properly”
use safety belts. This means that both parts of a lap and shoulder belt system must be
worn together, only one person per belt, and no placement of the shoulder belt behind
the back or under the arm. Any of these situations places the vehicle occupant at severe
risk of internal crash injury.

Children under 4 years old OR weighing less than 40 pounds must be restrained in child
seats. Children over 4 or weighing more than 40 pounds must use booster seats until
they turn 6 AND weigh at least 60 pounds.

If the shoulder belt portion of your adult safety belt rides up onto your neck or feels
uncomfortable, you may increase your comfort by sliding the built-in adjuster up or down
or by moving your seat position.

Various after-market accessories are marketed as belt adjusters or positioners. While
most of these products are not safety-tested, if the comfort they provide makes the
difference between whether or not you will wear your belt, they are probably well worth
the investment.

Motor homes and pickup trucks: Safety belts must be used where provided. However, be
extremely careful when transporting more persons than your vehicle has belts; an
unbelted occupant is 25 times more likely to be ejected in a crash than one who is
belted.

Airbags: Know the location of your vehicle’s airbags and seat passengers accordingly to
allow room for safe deployment. For front-mounted airbags, safe deployment requires
the driver or passenger to be restrained and to sit at least 10 inches back from the
airbag compartment. NEVER place a rear-facing infant seat in the front seat of an
airbag-equipped vehicle.

For help with child safety seats or boosters, call the Alliance for Community Traffic
Safety Oregon Child Safety Seat Resource Center at (503) 656-7207 (Portland metro
area) or 1-800-772-1315 (outside metro area.)

For help with installation or retrofitting of safety belts, call your vehicle dealer or vehicle
manufacturer’s customer service department.
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