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Enforcement to target child seat safety February 9 - 22  

Law enforcement officers will conduct the “Three Flags Campaign” enforcement blitz Feb. 9-22 

focused on increasing safety belt use throughout Oregon. Because it coincides with National 

Child Passenger Safety Week, Feb. 8-14, the blitz will focus on public education regarding 

proper use of the correct type of child restraint. Booster seats are required for children who have 

outgrown child safety seats but remain too small to fit securely in adult lap/shoulder belts.  

 

Oregon law requires child safety seats until children reach four years of age or 40 pounds, then 

booster seats until the child attains six years of age and 60 pounds. Further, it is strongly 

recommended that children aged twelve and under ride in the back seat.  

 

Safety belts and child safety seats can more than double the chances of surviving a crash 

uninjured. Since Oregon voters approved the 1990 safety belt law, belt use has doubled and 

crash injury and fatal rates have decreased by 43 percent and 53 percent respectively. 

However, more than half of crash fatalities last year were reportedly not wearing safety belts. 

ODOT estimates that more than 200 lives could be saved per year if everyone buckles up. 

 

For maximum protection and compliance with Oregon law, larger children and adults must wear 

both the lap and shoulder portions of a safety belt system. “The odds are great that you will be 

in a crash at some point in your life,” said Carla Levinski, occupant protection coordinator for the 

Oregon Department of Transportation’s Transportation Safety Division. “Safety belts, properly 

worn, keep you inside your car where you have a much better chance of surviving a crash or 

rollover.”  

 

For several years, Oregon's overall belt use rate has been among the top four states. While the 

national average use rate is 79 percent, Oregon’s official use rate is 91 percent. 

###ODOT### 

For updated information on highway work and current travel information throughout Oregon, visit 
www.tripcheck.com, or call the Oregon road report at 511 or (800) 977-6368. 

Visit the ODOT News Media Center at www.odot.state.or.us. 


